Refusal to do Scrum/XP?

I’m curious how many people are refusing to do Scrum/XP either because the implementation at the shop is either “too by the book” or “not enough by the book” or any other reason?

As a developer have you refused to work in a particular shop because of their Scrum/XP implementation?

As a hiring company have you found engineers that have refused to come onboard because of the Scrum/XP process in use?

Tell us your story!

Software Maestro

About Software Maestro

Long time OOP Software Architect
This entry was posted in Agile, Scrum, Thoughts about Agile/XP/SCRUM/Patterns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Refusal to do Scrum/XP?

  1. CE says:

    Yes, I refuse to do SCRUM. I have enough experience with it(6 yrs) to do so. I would describe myself as an agile developer, but I’m not an anti-waterfallist.

    SCRUM does not perform well.
    Tasks are never done 100% and I blame time-boxing for that.
    Result: It burns out developers.

    Software development is expensive and I don’t claim any other methodology guarantees faster or/and cheaper development. But I do guarantee Kanban makes me and my team happier, because it takes care of WIP and don’t force us to release unfinished work by date. Kanban also allowed us to reorganize our teams, so not everyone has to do everything anymore and therefore we have a strong leadership again coming from the development team.

    I would leave XP out of the SCRUM discussion.

    Hint: If you are unhappy with your SCRUM, self-organize with your colleagues and start doing Kanban. Don’t let them manager you.

  2. The running coder says:

    Not yet, but I’m hoping to refuse to do SCRUM in the very near future. 🙂

    Our company is just jumping on the bandwagon, a complete corporate switch-over from a mostly self-regulated per team process, to everyone being SCRUM, and strict SCRUM apparently.

    We were trained in a single day session with ~50 students to one teacher. I have 6 months of previous SCRUM experience and when I brought up the pain of 2 week timeboxes, especially in regards to breaking up work into unfinished chunks that still have to be “testable”, I was basically told yeah that’s just how it is, deal. This after spending 10 minutes espousing the need to be flexible.

    I guess flexible in SCRUM means you’re flexible, not the process. Hmmmm, in Soviet Russia process makes YOU.

    My past experiences have turned me off to this process, although I believe the standardized timeboxes are the biggest single flaw in SCRUM. It makes story grooming much more difficult, and coding a huge PITA when you have to package up something that’s half done to QA and make it testable. Ridiculous.

    Today we’re learning about what “done” really means. Man, I wish they’d covered that in finishing school, imagine where I’d be today if I’d known.

Leave a Reply

